Thursday, June 30, 2011

Turner Classic Movies Honors the Singing Cowboys in July


Speaking of Singing Cowboys, Turner Classic Movies is highlighting singing cowboy music every Friday night in July. This is going to be a real tribute, with not just Gene Autry and Roy Rogers, but Tex Ritter, Jimmy Wakely, Dick Foran, Monte Hale, Herb Jeffries, Ken Maynard and Rex Allen, too.

The TCM website says:

In honor of Roy Rogers in the 100th anniversary year of his birth, and also to salute all those dozens of other movie heroes of the Old West who were comfortable with a six-shooter in one hand and a guitar in the other, every Friday this month we'll be honoring the entire fraternity. Throughout July, instead of putting our TCM spotlight on a single star, we'll be shining it on nine "singing cowboys," beginning July 1 with five movies starring Rogers (first up: 1944's Cowboy and the Senorita, Roy's first film with future wife Dale Evans), later focusing on Autry, Tex Ritter, Jimmy Wakely, Dick Foran, Monte Hale and Herb Jeffries, who in the 1950s became a top-selling recording star after having been the first African American "singing cowboy" in a series of so-called "race movies" specifically made in the 1930s and 1940s for black audiences in black neighborhoods in that segregated time.

We'll also have films with Ken Maynard, who in 1930 became the first Western actor to actually sing in a Western movie. Also Rex Allen, the man considered the last of the genre; he signed off on his big screen career in the mid 1950s. So every Friday this month, we invite you to take off them boots, sit back and enjoy a look to the past and a vanishing breed of movie and movie hero -- fellows with honor, integrity, saddle-sores, spurs and songs, and who, true to the code of the West, rarely ever kissed the leading lady. See you at the corral.


You can go to TCM to get the actual programming. From my guide, I can see that tomorrow, July 1, is featuring Roy Rogers & Co. The following are being shown:

COWBOY AND THE SENORITA (1944): 5 PM Pacific/8 PM Eastern
DON'T FENCE ME IN (1945): 6:30 PM Pacific / 9:30 PM Eastern
MY PAL TRIGGER: (1946): 7:45 pm Pacific / 10:45 PM Eastern
THE GOLDEN STALLION (1947): 9:15 PM Pacific / 12:45 AM Eastern
TRIGGER, JR. (1950): 10:30 PM Pacific / 1:30 AM Eastern

So set reminders or program your DVRs so you can watch them over the weekend. If you're like me, you're going to love watching these on Saturday morning, just like when we were kids.

Special thanks to Barry Traylor for brining this to my attention! I would've hated missing this.




Bookmark and Share

2 comments:

Evan Lewis said...

Great news. If only I got TCM, so I could join the party. Guess I'll have to bust out my tapes and DVDs.

Deka Black said...

I'll say it this way: Every time i see a musical moment in a movie, i stop watching it. or fast fprward until is finished.